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HOLIDAY DUTY
Department of Corrections Employees

GENERAL

This Alabama Department of Corrections (ADOC) Administrative Regulation (AR)
establishes responsibilities, policies, and procedures for compensating employees for

holiday duty.

POLICY

It

is the policy of the Alabama Department of Corrections to compensate employees who

are required to work on official state holidays with either compensatory leave or paid
compensation in accordance with state law and procedures.

DEFINITION(S) AND ACRONYM(S)

A.

B.

Holiday duty: Refersto an employee having to work on an officia state holiday.

Holiday Time: Refersto compensatory time/leave that is granted to an employee
who works on an official state holiday.

Mardi Gras Day: Refersto an official holiday for employees of state officesin
Baldwin and Mobile Counties.

Personal Leave Day: Refersto aleave day granted on January 1 of each calendar
year to all state employees except those employed on Baldwin and Mobile
Counties.

State Holidays. Refersto holidays observed by the closing of state offices which
include the legal holidays described in Annex A to AR 203 and such other days
that may be declared holidays by the Governor.

RESPONSIBILITIES




The Personnel Division shall advise supervisors regarding state procedures for
holiday time.

Wardens and Division Directors shall ensure that:

1 Only employees essential for maintaining ADOC operations and programs
are scheduled for holiday duty.

2. Approval is granted for al holiday duty.

3. Employees are allowed to take holiday time within 90 days of accrual,
whenever possible.

4. Holiday time does not accrue for more than one year from the date of the
holiday duty.
5. Accurate |eave and work records are maintained.

The Accounting/Finance Division is responsible for the auditing of leave and
work records and arranging and processing paid compensation for qualifying
holiday time.

Payroll Clerks are responsible for:
1. Ensuring that holiday time is recorded on the employee’s leave and work
record and entered into the Government Human Resource System

(GHRS).

2. Notifying Wardens and Division Directors of any holiday time that has
accrued for one year.

3. Processing qualifying holiday time for paid compensation.
Employees are responsible for making written request to Wardens and Division

Directors for approval to accrue or receive paid compensation for qualifying
holiday time (Annex B to AR 203).

V. PROCEDURES

A.

Warden and Division Directors shall provide approval for employees to work on
official state holidays.

Employees shall be in pay status on the workday before and after a holiday to be
entitled to holiday compensation.

Full- time employees who work on a holiday shall accrue holiday time based on
the number of work hours of their regularly assigned shift (i.e., 8-hour or 12- hour
shift).
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Part-time employees shall accrue holiday time based on the number of hours they
work.

Employees who are not eligible for overtime compensation according to ADOC
Administrative Regulation 212 shall accrue holiday time.

Holiday time shall not accrue while an employee is on paid leave. Instead, the
holiday is used.

Holiday time shall not accrue while an employee is on leave without pay. Instead,
the employee shall remain in leave without paid status.

The accrud of holiday time shall be recorded on the employee’s leave and work
record and entered into the Government Human Resource System (GHRS).

An employee who works on a holiday shall be scheduled off within 90 days after
the accrual of the holiday unless:

1 Justification is provided that it shall be operational infeasible to schedule
the employee off within the 90-day time frame.

2. The employee requests in writing (Annex B to AR 203) and receives
approval to accrue the holiday.

Employees may request in writing (Annex B to AR 203) to receive paid
compensation (sell) of holiday time that has accrued for more than 90 days upon
notice of such payment opportunity from the ADOC A ccounting/Finance
Division and approval from the Warden or Division Director.

An employee shall not accrue more than 160 hours of holiday time.

Holiday time shall not accrue for more than one year after the date of the holiday
duty.

An employee may request to use holiday time that has accrued for less than one
year on any given day upon approval by the supervisor.

Employees shall receive paid compensation for any holiday time that has accrued
for one year.

A personal leave day is granted in lieu of the Mardi Gras holiday to employees
who are employed on January 1 of each year, except to those employeesin
Baldwin and Mobile Counties.

The personal leave day is accrued only on January 1 of each year. An employee
hired after January 1 of ayear is not entitled to a personal leave day for that year.
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V1.

VII.

VIII.

Part-time employees accrue a personal leave day on a proportional rate to the
number of hours they work.

R. Full-time employees shall accrue a persona leave day that equals the number of
hours of the employee’ s regular duty shift (i.e., 8-hours or 12-hours).

S. The personal leave day shall be:

1 Used before December 31 of each year, if at al possible.
2. Used before annual leave.
3. Used al at once (i.e., shal not be taken in partial increments).

T. Paid compensation to employees who did not use their personal leave day by
December 31 of any calendar year must be approved by the State Personnel
Director.

DISPOSITION

There are no forms prescribed by this regulation. Therefore, disposition procedures are

not necessary.

FORMS

This regulation does not implement any forms.

SUPERCEDES

This administrative regulation supercedes AR 203, dated February 3, 1995, as amended.

PERFORMANCE

This administrative regulation updates policy and procedures concerning holiday duty
and is based on, but not limited to, the laws and regulations below:

A.

B.

Code of Alabama, 1975, Section 1-3-8
Attorney General’s Opinion 92-0035

Rules of the State Personnel Board

State Personnel Department Procedures Manual
ADOC AR 212

ADOC AR 220
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ANNEX(S)
A. Annex A, Official State Holidays

B. Annex B, Request for Accrua or Paid Compensation of Holiday Time

Donal Campbell, Cﬁﬁmissicng ‘
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OFFICIAL STATE HOLIDAYS

Official State holidays include the legal holidays described below and any other days that may be

declared holidays by the Governor.

New Year's Day

Martin Luther King, Jr./Robert E Lee Birthday
Mardi Gras Day

George Washington/Thomas Jefferson’ s Birthday
Confederate Memoria Day

National Memorial Day

Jefferson Davis' Birthday

Independence Day

Labor Day

Columbus/Fraternal/American Indian Heritage Day
Veteran's Day

Thanksgiving Day

Christmas Day
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First Day of January

Third Monday in January
Baldwin and Mobile Counties
Third Monday in February
Fourth Monday in April

Last Monday in May

First Monday in June

Fourth Day of July

First Monday in September
Second Monday in October
Eleventh Day of November
Fourth Thursday in November

Twenty-fifth Day of December

Annex A to AR 203
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Sample

REQUEST FOR ACCRUAL OR PAID COMPENSATION
OF
HOLIDAY TIME

MEMORANDUM
TO:
WARDEN/DIVISION DIRECTOR
FROM:
EMPLOYEE
SUBJECT: Reguest to Accrue Holiday Time
Request to Receive Paid Compensation for Holiday Time
| hereby request approval to accrue holiday time in the amount of
hours.
| hereby request approval to receive paid compensation for accrued
holiday time in the amount of hours.
Signature: Date:
Employee
Job Classification:
Approved: Denied:
Signature: Date:

Warden/Division Director

Annex B to AR 203
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